Weld failure - Not cycle related

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

classic33

Leg End Member
Well to me the weld looks fine.
Id say the problem is with the post, it looks like the rusted metal has just pulled away due to stress and corrosion.
The weld line at the hinge base looks perfect..

I also worked in auto repair , ive see very good welds and chicken poo.
A good mate of mine used to weld hydraulic rams for the Ray Smith Group ,tail lifts, brilliant welder.

Me im more chicken poo
Done correctly, there shouldn't be any rust to see.

Levo-Lon

Guru
Done correctly, there shouldn't be any rust to see.

If the post has got water in it and corroded the weld quality makes no difference.

The post has failed not the weld from what i can see.
Paint has cracked and water has done the rest.

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
I'm no expert but I do know cast iron is difficult to weld. You need to preheat it to a certain temperature. If you are stick welding you need a certain type of rod. Once welded, you have to keep it hot and only let it cool slowly.

Fail to take these precautions and you risk cracking. The heat from welding can cause the surrounding metal to take on a sort of granular texture. I believe brazing is the correct technique.

Lots of experts here who might advise: http://www.mig-welding.co.uk/forum/

Listen to what the celestial Keith has to say:

View: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=117Q9odITF8

BrumJim

Forum Stalwart (won't take the hint and leave...)
I would look for a local weld inspector for advice. A professional welder needs the qualifications to weld properly, and if required, they will be welding to an instruction, which will have been passed off by a welding inspector, certified to do this task. Although we tend to be seriously careful in the rail industry with welding, given the number of people that we can kill in one event.