what a difference ....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

02GF74

Über Member
.... a new front brake cable makes!!

Over the weekend I regreased the headset and also the brake cables, discovering that 4 or more strands in the front cable had worn through by the noodel!! EEEK! :biggrin:

Anyway, yesterday, fitted new cable, noodle and applying the front brake for the first time, it made such a big difference to the stopping power - guess the old "thinnner" cable was being stretched!

Globalti

Legendary Member
Change all your cables or at least the gear cable outer at the rear derailleur, you'll be amazed at how accustomed you have become to heavy and inaccurate shifting.

Iceniner

Ive never changed my cables as of yet as im still fairly new to cycling, but is there a rough guide as to how often/approx milage before i should think about changing them/dropping it into the lbs?

4F

Active member of Helmets Are Sh*t Lobby
Soltydog said:
I've not changed any cables on either bike, apart from one gear cable on the road bike. How often do people change the cables? :smile:

When they break :biggrin:

Cable Life

Change them two months after they broke or when you get fed up with the bottom of your shoes wearing out, that's what the local kids seem to do any way :ohmy::biggrin: