What do the sleep experts say about the cause of early morning waking? This refers to waking up while still very tired.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I go to bed at about 11pm and get up at 4am and ride 20km to work most days. I leave at 4.30am and start work at 6am. I finish at 11am, ride home and spend the day with Jannie. In the late afternoon, I sometimes have a half hour "brain" sleep. I am then good until I go to bed.

I have been doing this for 20 years. The fact that I am 65 years of age and can cycle 40km almost every day and rarely have any type of illness. Makes me wonder if I am unusual or that the sleep experts do not always get it right.

Summer mornings at 4.30am are glorious where I live and is like food for the soul. Winter, when its cold, dark and blowing is a battle. But it strengthens the resolve inside you

I am with you 100% in respect of the benefits of regular exercise. but It is not only exercise. A myriad things contribute to good health. A person's state of mind is paramount to good health & being able to sleep.

I assume Jannie is your partner, but if ever Jannie was to leave you one day, you would soon start to notice the sleepless nights followed by the ailments. When the sleepless nights start, you would see cracks in the regular cycing and going to work at age 65. We have what we have by the grace of God. Treasure that and think of those less fortunate.

simongt

Guru
They mention lots of things that they say can prevent us from dropping off to sleep at night, but I cannot say I have come by any info on the reasons for the silly O'clock waking in the morning.