What to look for on a CX bike?

Do you love epic awesome gum wall knobbys!

• YES YES YES!

Votes: 6 60.0%
  • No they are meh

Votes: 4 40.0%

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

A.Z.KOETSIER

Ok so I am absolutely obsessed with Skin/Tan/Gum walls and Knobbly tires look so bad ass. So I have to get a CX bike

I have no experience with discs, are hydraulics much better than mechanical, and what about this mechanical hydro combos?

Been looking at mid entry level bikes such as the Scott CX 10 or Planet X XLS with Hydro Rival, are these both full hydro? any comments on geometry ?

What's the ultimate badass Gumwall knobbly on the market! does tyre width/volume make a massive difference i'm quite heavy +100kg not to keen on pinch flats as I see CX guys run like 3-4bar!
Cross_Mix.jpg

"ultimate badass" tyre - will you be racing or posing..??

If it's his bike. he can do whatever he wants.

I can't believe the hostility that seems to be flying around CC at the moment. Simple questions are asked and people are lambasted in return.

The season of internet bullying preceding the season of goodwill.

I like the Rocket Ron tyres on my Focus - recently bought. Not bad ass at all, but they look 'right' for my bike and don't need to 'pimp' it.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ7VOvD08uvd74ejBzijGhLAbeTAAyASMlxJEYaQN4kvNmKEAje7A.jpg

OP
OP
A.Z.KOETSIER

A.Z.KOETSIER

I can't believe the hostility that seems to be flying around CC at the moment. Simple questions are asked and people are lambasted in return.

I like the Rocket Ron tyres on my Focus - recently bought. Not bad ass at all, but they look 'right' for my bike and don't need to 'pimp' it.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ7VOvD08uvd74ejBzijGhLAbeTAAyASMlxJEYaQN4kvNmKEAje7A.jpg

Those Rockets look awesome indeed, the whole focus does actually. Another CX bike I should consider!