What's the legal situation here?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DBrown67

I'm a new member but I'm not a cyclist. I'm a taxi driver in Leeds. But I take my job seriously and there are quite a few occasions when I feel the need to clarify situation I've been involved in. Or could have been involved in. Like this morning for example.....

I'm travelling up a straight, single carriageway road coming out of Leeds. My lane is clear with no traffic ahead. The other lane (again single carriageway) going into Leeds is practically at a standstill. However I need to turn right into a car park for my next pick up.

I wait patiently for the traffic to move a little so I can move right if someone leaves me the space. A van does so and then I begin to move right across the traffic. Then a cyclist comes flying down the insdie of the stationary traffic... one second later and he would have been over my bonnet. The van in question is a Luton van.... it;s impossible for me to see anything on the blind side of this line of traffic. Had I hit him what would have been the legal stance?

Highway Code 167 states "Do NOT overtake where you might come into conflict with other road users." and then goes on to mention other situations like queuing at road junctions and also where they may cause other road users to swerve or slow down.

I understand cyclists will filter... but on the inside is a liability to yourselves. I can see how tempting it is in stationary traffic there's always a chance someone needs to come across into a side road. The Luton van could just have easily been a bus. Overtaking on the left of large vehicles is a no-no surely?

rbreid

Old git on old bikes
No idea what the legal position is. Think I'd be hard put to blame you if there was a collision in that circumstance but that's only my feeling.

clockman

Über Member