Wheel buckled past repair?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
A friend had an unfortunate encounter with a ridge on the towpath in his wheelchair yesterday, and it's left his wheel with a humungous buckle in it. Not easy to photograph, but...

wheel.jpg

I'd say the 'wobble' is at least 1.5-2cm, and early efforts to straighten by the usual spoke tightening/loosening have pretty much run aground. The spokes on the 'concave' side are now beyond further tightening, and the wobble seems pretty much aswas. It's knackered isn't it? Or might it be retrievable, and if so, any tips?

Thanks.

Last edited:

Drago

Legendary Member
I'm not an expert at this sort of thing. I can true a typically wobbly wheel, but that looks beyond my abilities. How about whipping the wheel off and taking it to an LBS for a nosey?

Reactions: mjr
I fixed a buckled wheel by loosening all the spokes then force-ably bending the wheel back (roughly) into shape. The spokes were then tightened to true the wheel to a better shape. The result was not a perfectly true wheel but at least use-able.

OP
OP
swee'pea99

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
I fixed a buckled wheel by loosening all the spokes then force-ably bending the wheel back (roughly) into shape. The spokes were then tightened to true the wheel to a better shape. The result was not a perfectly true wheel but at least use-able.
Thanks. I shall give that a go!

arch684

Veteran
Place the wheel across 2 pieces of wood with the buckled part overhanging the wood by about 8 inch then use your weight to push the buckled part of the rim back over,then true the wheel as normal,wont be perfect but it should be usable

OP
OP
swee'pea99

swee'pea99

Legendary Member