Wheel building ...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ozboz

Guru
Hiya, I’ve booked myself on a wheel building course , not to say I’ll be the dogs BX at it at the end of the day , but it’s worth the cost to me (75 sobs) to gain the fundamentals of this skill , the courses are run with connection to the LCC so I’m not guessing the that the tutor will be top shelf , if anyone else in West London is interested there may be a few places still available , look for London Bike Hub on the web ,

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Once you have done the course you could do much worse than dismantling an old wheel and trying to rebuild it. I self-taught the skill as a teenager swapping bits from various broken wheels to make a useable one as I was too poor to buy new ones... :laugh:

Tilley

Über Member
Once you have done the course you could do much worse than dismantling an old wheel and trying to rebuild it. I self-taught the skill as a teenager swapping bits from various broken wheels to make a useable one as I was too poor to buy new ones... :laugh:
I did exactly the same in my youth and was very proud with what I achieved but my memory of it is that it took an age and I learnt by going up some blind alleys. So I can see why you would want to know how to do it correctly first off if you can afford to.

Globalti

Legendary Member
I used to swop worn out mountain bike rims for new and recently I beat Mavic's planned obsolescence by finding a new Ksyrium rim and spokes and rebuilding my rear wheel. I guess that won't be happening much now thanks to disc brakes.

It's a great skill to learn, and certainly not a black art to be feared. I've built around a dozen so far, and re-dished and tweaked many others. I followed a tutorial over on Atomic Zombie: https://www.atomiczombie.com/tutorial-3-cross-wheel-lacing/

For spoke length I use this one: https://www.sapim.be/spoke-calculator