which bike for LEJOG?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

simon_o

as a complete cycling novice i'm looking for a bit of advice. For reasons not entirely clear, other than the idea a good challenge I've agreed to ride the length of the UK with a couple of friends next year.

i'm in my mid 30s & haven't owned a bike since school, i have a reasonable level of general fitness but so far cycle training has involved a few sessions on a bike in the gym - 30km in an hour seems ok, not sure how i repeat that for 7 hours a day yet?

The plan is to run self sufficient with minimum kit & complete in about 9 days

so I've done a little bit of reading up & had more or less picked a bike based on price range & available size

Trek 1.2 C H2 2013 Road Bike

But, the more i read the more confused i get, so some specific questions, which may indeed elicit conflicting advice
- compact or triple chain set?
- road bike or touring bike?
- what have i not even thought about?

maybe in the end it doesn't it really matter, just get the miles under the belt before i start..

Would appreciate any thoughts or advice

vickster

Legendary Member
You won't sustain 30km/h on the road when there are hills and lights and traffic. Personally, I can do that on an exercise bike, on the road, I manage 14mph average tops (did 13.8mph over 102 miles last weekend)

I don't think you need a touring bike per se but the ability to have a fixed rack and mudguards would be useful - the Trek doesn't have rack mounts from what I can see

Something like this would work, also with a more relaxed geometry. I have the 2012 WSD equivalent with fixed rack

http://www.ashcycles.com/site/giant-defy-2-2013

OP
OP
S

simon_o

Thanks vickster, I appreciate there's no way I'll sustain that kind of speed

I was thinking of a seat post mounted beam rack for something like this topeak bag & by riding next july/august avoiding the need for mudguards

vickster

Legendary Member