(Wooden) design help/advice needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

stuckinthemud

Regular
This is going to sound rambling but please bare with me.
I drive to work. There I said it. 10.5 miles across Caerphilly mountain to the near centre of Cardiff. Currently I can park near the school I teach at. There is no staff parking and the council are about to implement a series of cycle lanes that will mean I will probably end up parking a mile or more from work. I will need a last mile transport solution. Even if I switch to the train, I will still be a mile from work but the trains are incredibly unreliable right now.

Anyway, school uses Pedalpower and I get to play on the ICE Trikes and I love them BUT my 5’6” frame means I virtually sit on the front axle, especially as I use the centre of my foot not toes. This means the trike wheel spins on any kind of slope and pulls spectacular stoppies when I brake hard.

I need to add I am a skilled woodworker with a garage full of timber and my budget is a little less than zero

I want to build something to get from car to work. Upright, bike, trike, recumbent, I don’t really mind. Of the bikes I have owned, my favourite was my 1980s Peugeot road/race bike but I haven’t found a mountain bike I enjoyed riding: my all time favourite maker is Sano.

Some kind of folding recumbent appears to be the most straightforward to build but maybe not the easiest to ride? Pretty much my only criteria is it must fit on the back seat of a small hatchback. As you can see I am largely clueless please can you give me advice/ help/ ideas/options
Thanks
Andrew

Last edited:

classic33

Leg End Member

OP
OP
S

stuckinthemud

Regular