Worrying heart rate?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brahan

Über Member
Hello all.

I used a cheap HRM from Argos and occasionaly my HR would get up to 218. I mentioned this to a couple of guys who are super fit and they suggested that I was making a mistake and getting the readings wrong. (in a piss taking kind of a way) :biggrin: So I decided that the HRM must just be rubbish and I kind of stopped using it. Recently I got a Polar CS200 and after my ride home last night it registered as 208 Max HR. Since I've been training hard for 6-7 months I can see how I may be able to drop 10 bpm from my max HR due to getting fitter but when I look at it: 208 still seems pretty high. Im 31 this year and for the first time I'm starting to think about my heart and any undue stresses I may be putting on it. I have loads of questions in my head but I would just like a little bit of info if possible. Should I see a doctor? It is ok? Am I being paraniod?

:laugh:

If you have any concerns then I would say better for peace of mind to have a chat with you doctor, however the long thought guide for max heart rate is only a very rough guide and many times its wrong.

I am 44 and my max is now 196, though I must also admit when I have been at or very close to this I still feel like I have a sliver left in me, just I have never had the urge to really push the boundaries to see if this is my max or not (I guess having suffered a heart attack 13 months ago and not ridden a bike for over 30 years means I am a little careful)

If in doubt see the doctor

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
208's not bad - I used to hit 205 in my late 20's. How long have you been cycling etc.

Think my max HR is just below 200 these days - 39 years old - resting HR is about 50 or just under.

OP
OP
B

Brahan

Über Member
fossyant said:
208's not bad - I used to hit 205 in my late 20's. How long have you been cycling etc.