Would you do an OU course?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Arch

Married to Night Train
Yup, I did my first degree with the OU - mixed humanities. I didn't really work hard enough, so I scraped a third - down to me, rather than the institution or the teaching I think.

I'd always say go for it. The beauty is (well when I was doing it it was) that you can take breaks, have a lighter year if you feel you need less work etc...

It's never too late to do a degree. How proud was I when I went to my Mum's graduation in July - and her 72!

MichaelM

Guru
You could start with a 10 point "short course" such as Understanding society to see whether the O.U./subject area.

This is a list of all the individual undergrad Social Science courses.

bof

Senior member. Oi! Less of the senior please
I have done a couple of short science courses for interest and possibly for a self-employed sideline for when I retire from my day job.

Being no spring chicken I find it much harder to absorb stuff than when I was eighteen, but having a degree helps as it means the maths and the need to structure answers to questions comes fairly easily.

You do an end of course assessment and you have five months tops before it must be handed in. If you want to take longer you can - include the assessment as part of the learning and make sure you have all the material from the courses microsite downloaded before they cut you off. I paid £130 ish for the last one I did and it included around £30 worth of material. Their estimate of 10 hours per course point is about right.

My work makes it tricky to attend evening classes - which on the whole are fairly crap nowadays anyway - and I like the flexibility the OU gives.

I'd suggest start out with a short course and see what you make of it before plunging in to a big commitment.

surfgurl