Yorkshire to Copenhagan

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Oliverd

Regular
Hi there,

Newby here, looking for a sense-check! I'm new to touring (cycling in general really). I'm reasonably fit currently able to do around 50 miles up and down the Yorkshire Dales but looking to do a fundraiser in April next year so need to get fitter. My plan is to bike the following route from the UK, through Netherlands, Germany and up to Denmark:

Day 1 - Leeds to Hull - 70 miles - 1044 feet climbing
Overnight ferry to the Rotterdam
Day 2 - Rotterdam to Zwolle - 101 miles - 613 feet climbing
Day 3 - Zwolle to Oldenberg - 117 miles - 672 feet climbing
Day 4 - Oldenberg to Hamburg - 99 miles - 1276 feet
Day 5 - Hamburg to Hellgenhafen - 85 miles - 2078 feet
Day 6 - Hellgenhafen to Copenhagen - 121 miles - 2375 feet

I know they're some long distances, but it's relatively flat, do you reckon they are achievable?
What tips/advice would you give me?

Thanks a lot!

Check the wind direction through Holland, 100 miles or so of flat riding with a headwind isnt going to be easy.

best of Luck with the planning and fitness build up

Flat miles are not easy miles, you get stuck in the same position for hours. I did a 90miler to catch the ferry at Cuxhaven, it was a mental battle to maintain speed along an incredibly boring unrelenting concrete road.
I saw a granny bike with aerobars. Wind is a thing.
Back to back centuries are hard to maintain. You dont get to recover so need deep fitness, a well conditioned body and a riding position that had been tested.
Are you camping or what?

OP
OP
O

Oliverd

Regular
Flat miles are not easy miles, you get stuck in the same position for hours. I did a 90miler to catch the ferry at Cuxhaven, it was a mental battle to maintain speed along an incredibly boring unrelenting concrete road.
I saw a granny bike with aerobars. Wind is a thing.