Yorkshire to Scotland - Planning my first ever tour

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi Guys, I am planning my first ever tour for late summer so i thought i'd dip into this extensive pool of knowledge. I'm a newbie to all this malarky not nearly fit enough but getting there and reckon if i get the practice miles in i could do 240km over 3 days,Harrogate to Scottish Borders, even with the constant elevations.

My first issue is sorting a route to avoid larger roads without zig zagging and adding too much distance on the clock. I had thought about the A68, never too bad for driving but what about riding? anybody gone up it?

Secondly i need to consider a route with either camping or hostels on route i reckon 2 nights stay over on route, again without proper research i reckon the A68 would over more options? some where near Darlington for the first night and north newcatle (Otterburn areea) for the second.

All speculation and thought at the moment, was going to start with the C2C but have recently been given some serious thought to it.

Has anybody done a route close to this and can recomend/scare me of?

All the best and keep them wheels turning.

rich p

ridiculous old lush
Everyone has a different idea of what is fun or acceptable in terms of roads and routes.

FWIW, I like minor roads with little traffic even if it adds some miles to the journey and very likely hills too as the main routes tend to take the geological line of least resistance. In general I avoid like the plague, A roads unless it's absolutely necessary through lack of time or lack of alternatives.