Your opinion on this wheel truing stand please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
@Spoked Wheels in particular :smile:
I would like to buy a wheel truing stand: I'm a complete beginner at this, when we did it at bike mechanics class I was ready to launch the blooming wheel in orbit.
Still, I think I should practise. I have seen this stand and I fancy buying it from the enterprising seller instead of getting a mass made one.
Is it suitable?
Btw, I'm aware I could practise on my own bikes with the wheels in the forks, but I need them functioning, got access to some redundant wheels to practise on.

Being home made ... If its been made square I am sure it will do the job
When you become a "fully qualified wheel builder" you can always upgrade your tools :smile:

LetMeEatCake

It certainly looks the part, and as a bonus would be an excellent start to your mad-scientist laboratory too.
Question to those who know better than I do: I've built a couple of wheels over the years (probably really badly, but, touch wood, they haven't collapsed yet), and have always just used the bike itself as the truing stand (with a plastic ruler rubber-banded across the stays / forks). Is there anything bad/wrong about doing it on the bike, or do truing stands just make life easier?

Spoked Wheels

Legendary Member
@Spoked Wheels in particular :smile:
I would like to buy a wheel truing stand: I'm a complete beginner at this, when we did it at bike mechanics class I was ready to launch the blooming wheel in orbit.
Still, I think I should practise. I have seen this stand and I fancy buying it from the enterprising seller instead of getting a mass made one.
Is it suitable?
Btw, I'm aware I could practise on my own bikes with the wheels in the forks, but I need them functioning, got access to some redundant wheels to practise on.