£300 ish to spend

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lastpost

Hi there

I would be really grateful if anybody could offer some advice. I am just getting into biking and am finding that my current cheap bike just does not cut it.

I know it is not a huge amount to spend but I have £300 - £400 I want to invest in some new wheels.

What would you guys suggest?

It needs to be a mountain bike, I will be doing mainly road riding, but some off-road.

Any help is really appreciated! Oh, and apologies for posting as I am sure this kind of info has been covered hundreds of times!

Many thanks

CeeDee51

OP
OP
L

Lastpost

I know they are a little more than £300 - but which of the following would anybody suggest?

Claude Butler Cape Wrath D27

Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc / Sports Disc

Gary D

Lastpost said:
I know they are a little more than £300 - but which of the following would anybody suggest?

Claude Butler Cape Wrath D27

Specialized Hardrock Pro Disc / Sports Disc

Neither if you are doing mainly road riding! :evil: :ohmy:

You need to define what you mean by "off-road"?

If it is just compressed dirt or gravel tracks then a hybrid, cyclocross or touring bike (probably only second hand for the latter 2 with your budget) would do. Note: No suspension required!!
If it is full-on rock strewn single track then you need a mountain bike. However, your road riding will be comprimised if you go this route.

Just be aware that if you start to really get in to cycling, then you probably won't go off-road at all. So my advice would be to lean towards a road-orientated bike ie 700c wheels with 28-32C tyres, no suspension, flat handlebars and a triple chainset. Something like a Specialized Sirrus or Trek 7.2FX or similar.

Gary.

OP
OP
L

Lastpost

Hi Gary

Thanks for that. It will be off-road enough to warrant a mountain bike...

Any ideas what £400ish could get me? Looking new ideally...perhaps last year's models?

Gary D

Lastpost said:
Hi Gary