1 hour 15 mins for only 6 miles :(

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lazy

Hi all
I am new at cycling. I live in barking and work in Canary wharf. It took me a disappointing 1 hour and 10 mins for just 6 miles. it is my second day and man my legs are killing me and even my bum is hurting :/
I have a crappy mountain bike which i bought from tescos for around 50 quid on sale.

I traveled from barking underground station to A124 Barking Road till i reached blackwell tunnel and from their i entered canary wharf.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
Doesn't matter what time it takes now... just note it down and then in a few weeks/months look back and realise quite how far you have come.

OP
OP
lazy

lazy

Doesn't matter what time it takes now... just note it down and then in a few weeks/months look back and realise quite how far you have come.

Thanks for your kind words. I will keep trying but i think have to change my bike.

D

Deleted member 1258

Hi all
I am new at cycling. I live in barking and work in Canary wharf. It took me a disappointing 1 hour and 10 mins for just 6 miles. it is my second day and man my legs are killing me and even my bum is hurting :/
I have a crappy mountain bike which i bought from tescos for around 50 quid on sale.

I traveled from barking underground station to A124 Barking Road till i reached blackwell tunnel and from their i entered canary wharf.

It takes time to build up the fitness and get used to cycling, you just need to keep at it and you will get better at it.

byegad

Legendary Member
If you went straight into a 6 mile commute from no cycling it will take a little time but you will get a lot faster. Try riding every other day so your legs recover on your rest days, then move to two out of three days riding. Within a month you'll be much faster and riding every day.

MattHB

Proud Daddy