11sp Mech Ultegra or New 12sp Ultegra Di2

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

VeloBoi

Regular
Hi all,

So I'm relatively new to road cycling, since the last year or so after I bought my first bike, a Giant Contend SL1 disc, which has served me well.
I am now looking at upgrading to a carbon bike, with a racier geometry, looking at an array of options including Giant TCR, Trek Emonda, Supersix Evo
as well as more value options from Ribble and Vitus; all with with mechanical Ultegra group set. I'll be buying via my work's cycle to work scheme,
which will bring a significant cost saving.

However, my eye has been turned by the arrival of the new 12 speed Di2 ultegra, and doing the cost calculation for some
of the bikes, with the c2w cost saving the the 12sp Di2 ultegra will come in at £525 more than the 11sp mechanical Ultegra.
In the grand scheme of things, given Shimano's intention to kill off Ultegra mechanical in a year or two, is it worth paying the
extra for Di2 to future proof. What material benefits does the Di2 bring over the mechanical Ultegra. I will not be racing, rides will
be mainly weekend 25 -50 milers with small groups of friends going as fast as we can ^_^.

Would be keen to hear people's thoughts and views.

Thanks

13 rider

Guru
Do you need D12 ? The answer to that that question is no . Is it nice to have ask anyone who uses it and that answer is yes
As for everyday riders will you notice the difference probably but it's very marginal improvement from mechanical to electronic shifting
Only you can decide if you can justify the extra cost . Shimano are constantly upgrading stuff but the old stuff doesn't go obsolete overnight so future spares is not an issue and all groupset are interchangeable ie if you can't get ultegra parts 105 will fit