absolute beginner

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Gravity Aided

Legendary Member
After my running times were over, I had no regular exercise program. Getting back on the bicycle at 44 was like getting on a jet airplane compared to running. Low impact, high enjoyment. That makes participants more likely to stick with it, just realize it is not painless. No shin splints or side stitches, but still plenty of opportunity to get the hurt on, as it were. Enjoy, but watch the overdoing and stress injury. And a good bike fitting will be helpful as well. This will help you to maximize your potential, and lessen the hazard of injury and pain on the bike.

OP
OP
thunderlips76

thunderlips76

climbs for cake
ok so been to halfords and looked and got on, some of their carreras, looks like i'm a 51cm frame wise ( very short legs).

Sharky

Guru
but every guide says I should be on a 54. is there a practical way of measuring the frame size. I was on the bike with feet flat to the floor the top bar of the frame was, i'd say an inch from my erm.......crotch. Is this correct?. And I thought buying running shoes was a minefield.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Carrera-V...1552507047?pt=UK_Bikes_GL&hash=item3f39ca6ca7

LIKE THE LOOK OF THIS

Ignore any measurement which starts at floor level.
Sit on the saddle, with your heal over the pedal axle at the lowest point of the rotation and your leg should be completely straight. Then when you move your foot so that the ball of the foot is over the pedal axle, your leg should now be slightly bent at the knee - never locking out straight.

You won't be able to touch the floor when sitting on the saddle, but this a rough starting point for efficient riding. You just have to learn to slide off the saddle as you come to a stopping point.

Cheers Keith

Profpointy

Legendary Member
couple of hints, in no particular order, which a so-called beginner might not be aware of....