Aching backside after being on the saddle

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi and hope your all well.
I've been cycling regularly for the past 5 years and cover around 70/100 miles a week.In all this time I've never suffered from an aching backside apart from when I first started cycling.I have not altered anything on my bike,but this week my backside is really feeling the pain.Its notably the sit bones that's causing me discomfort.Its that bad I'm finding it painful to sit down the next day after a ride and it's now putting me off going out on the bike.
Any ideas and thoughts as to why I'm suddenly suffering a sore Arris whilst I've not changed a thing on my bike or my regular routine of cycling.
Many thanks for any replys from a rather bruised Cycle Chat member 😵

Check the saddle - has it broken or the rails snapped ? Or possibly the seatpost slipped down a bit ?

OP
OP
johnnyb47

johnnyb47

Guru
Thanks for the reply @cougie uk . Everything seems fine with the saddle apart from it's starting to look worse for wear after it's 15000 miles of use. I've been reluctant to change it as it's been so comfortable over the years

OP
OP
johnnyb47

johnnyb47

Guru
I've put a little bit of weight on @ColinJ but not massive amounts. Clothing wise I have recently purchased some cycling tights with a padded undercarriage. I wonder if it's these that may be causing me issues 🤔

OP
OP
johnnyb47

johnnyb47

Guru
Without going into to much gory details, but after examining myself I can feel hard lumps in the fleshy part of my Arris where my sit bones are.🧐

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
I've put a little bit of weight on @ColinJ but not massive amounts. Clothing wise I have recently purchased some cycling tights with a padded undercarriage. I wonder if it's these that may be causing me issues 🤔

I few ounces of extra fat there and padding in places that you are not used to... It might be enough to make the difference!