Advice for a heavy guy, also an introduction.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

KnockerDolt

Regular
Hi, first time posting here and hopefully not the last. I've decided to take the plunge and buy my first bike since I was about 12. The bike I got was the Carrera Crossfire 1 which is a hybrid.
Admittedly I kinda got it on a whim and I'm starting to regret it as I don't think it'll be able to take my weight. My friend suggested getting better tyres if I have any problems. I haven't got it yet but I should get it tomorrow (ordered off the internet). Is there any other suggestions you can give me?
By the way i'm about 6'2" and about 340lbs (yeah, I got the bike to loose weight. Hopefully it should work well with my diet).

Kiwiavenger

im a little tea pot
take it at your own pace and build up when you feel comfortable. i started riding at about 260 lbs and have lost 40 ish so far, i had an old apollo CX10 and to be fair bikes are generally good as long as you dont hit big potholes or bunnyhop down kerbs!

there is a member here who has lost one hell of a lot of weight through cycling, cant remember his name but im sure someone will pop up with it in a bit!

as an afterthough enjoy it! it will give you the motivation to go further than you ever thought possible!

T.M.H.N.E.T

Rainbows aren't just for world champions
take it at your own pace and build up when you feel comfortable. i started riding at about 260 lbs and have lost 40 ish so far, i had an old apollo CX10 and to be fair bikes are generally good as long as you dont hit big potholes or bunnyhop down kerbs!

there is a member here who has lost one hell of a lot of weight through cycling, cant remember his name but im sure someone will pop up with it in a bit!

as an afterthough enjoy it! it will give you the motivation to go further than you ever thought possible!
gb155

gary in derby