Advice on conversion kits please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Juliansou

Hi all,
I'm hoping to pick the brains of those far more experienced than me! I’m looking to convert my Elephant bike (refurbished Royal Mail bike) to an ebike - photo attached. It’s a pretty robust steel frame made by Pashley, weighing in at at hefty 23kg! The main issue I can see is that it’s has the Sturmey Archer 3 speed hub, and hub brakes front and rear. Does this mean just swapping out the front wheel is a non starter? Any ideas would be very much appreciated. I’m happy with the bike but would like to make it just a bit more versatile ( especially up the hills). I have limited knowledge of the cost for these conversions but would obviously like to bring it in for as little as I practically can. I’ve heard mixed reviews on a friction set up - any views on these too?

Thanks all in advance for you shared knowledge.

aldus

Might I suggest a mid-frame conversion? you can keep the brakes and the hub. The Bafang kits seem to be pretty dependable, they're assembly is very well documented on YouTube, and they seem to be quite available.

HMS_Dave

Grand Old Lady
I have an elephant bike and have mulled over this myself. I would get mid drive conversion kit similar to these https://wooshbikes.co.uk/?cdkit#tsdz2 which replaces the bottom bracket for a motor assembly, simply put. The SA Hub is a robust bit of kit and would handle the power im sure. That would eliminate the need to replace the hub brakes and keeps the bike largely as it is. Forget the friction type ebike kits, if by friction you mean the ones that drive directly onto the tyres, i would avoid. Extra tyre wear, questionable performance in all but the most perfect conditions and can be quite noisy and unreliable.

OP
OP
Juliansou

Juliansou

Thanks folks
I think mid frame is the way forward - I like the idea of keeping the bike ’as is’ if possible.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member