Advice on spec......

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DDYB

Folks,

Through the Cycle2Work scheme with Halfords I am looking to purchase one of the two bikes above. There is only about £20 difference between them through Halfords but other than tyre width what are the main differences between the two?

I am still quite new to all of this so if anyone could have a look at the two links below and highlight the main differences that would be greatly appreciated. I can obv see the slight variations in the spec but not overly sure which is better.

http://www.evanscycles.com/products...oogle&utm_medium=froogle&utm_campaign=froogle

http://www.evanscycles.com/products...oogle&utm_medium=froogle&utm_campaign=froogle

I think both of these would be suitable for my needs (50% road & 50% cycle path) but as a newbie I'm not sure which of these would be most suitable. I am leaning towards the Voyage as I feel starting on a slightly wider tyre would be benificial but am open to thoughts/suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

I'd lean towards the horizon it'd got higher and more gears and narrower tires that will roll faster, sounds lighter too (carbon forks) but I lean towards speed/ roads more than comfort. The voyage has lower gears more suitable for hills and as you point out wider tyres (more comfortable) and it leans more towards rough stuff. So it depends what you want to use the bike for, is the bike path surfaced?

OP
OP
D

DDYB

Yeah the path is mostly surfaced however there are sections of gravel/whindust footpath.
If I were to put the same 25mm slicks on the voyage would there be a huge difference in speed?

The way I'm looking at it (feel free to correct me here) is:
Voyage has wider tyres so will be more suitable and comfortable for cycle path & gravel/whindust.
Horizon is faster but if I changed the tyres on the Voyage then they would be almost as fast as each other?