Advice on strapping bikes to cycle carrier

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

loopyloo

I'm fairly new to this cycling lark. Got a rear-mounted cycle rack as it's my only affordable option and is for occasional use (am saving for roof bars but it'll be a few years). Just tried fitting two bikes to it as a test and it took over an hour to figure out the safest way! What am I doing wrong?

It might seem obvious but is there a special way to strap bikes to a rear-mounted rack? My carrier has rubber fixings which I used to secure the frame of each bike to the rack, then there are two red straps with a silver metal fastener. I hooked these around the wheels of each bike to stop them spinning. They were only just long enough to enable me to do this so I don't know what you're supposed to do when there are three bikes on there.

It's not going to take me as long next time obviously, but I wanted to find out if there are any tricks to safely securing bikes to a rack or whether it is just common sense. Looking at the picture on the box (the instructions only covered fitting the rack, didn't extend to securing the bikes) you place each bike end to end, i.e. the opposite way around on the rack, which I did.

Any helpful advice gratefully received.

Downward

Guru
Buy some Ratchet Lashing like this stuff.
http://www.machinemart.co.uk/shop/p...lashing/path/tie-downs-strops-blocks-shackles

You can get it from any decent DIY store.

Then just wrap it around bikes and attach to carrier.
I think we have 2 ratchets and last time we used them was to take 2 x heavy DS MTB's on a weeks holiday which was about a 1400 mile round trip.

ASC1951

Guru
loopyloo said:
... to find out if there are any tricks to safely securing bikes to a rack.