Another daft Question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

darth vadar

Über Member
Bear with me here please.

I was watching the TDF last night and the commentators highlighted the fact that the cyclist were hammering along at 40mph.

Now, as a beginner, I have only ever hit about 20/22 mph on the flat or faster when freewheeling down a steep hill.

My question is; how do I get to go a bit faster? Do I need to just practice more? Am I in the right gears (no technical terms please) - big cog at the front, small cog at the back sort of language please.

I have a hybrid and a flat bar road bike.

Am I doing something wrong or am I just useless ?

Take it as read that I am old(er) and fat (ter)

Thank you.

WychwoodTrev

Were they on their own or in the peloton ? As the peloton normally travels faster than a single rider. But for you to get faster you need to train/practice build up your power. Have a look in interval training . Which is basicly 4 mins at arounf 75 % then flat out for 30seconds then back to 75% for anouther 4 mins. Only do 5reps in session. As you get fitter,faster you will be able to do the flat out bit for longer but build up slowly say 30 secs increase at a time. And only do interval training a max of 3 times a week

The Horse's Mouth

Proud to be an Inverted snob!
Firstly the TDF riders are the fitess of the fit. Bradley Wiggins is 6ft 3in and weighs only 11 stone. Secondly, they have super tuned bikes costing a good few thousand pounds each.

If you want to go faster I suggest you try cycling 50 miles a day plus and buy a 5 grand bike.

Small things you can do is get better/lighter equipment on the bike you have. Clipless pedals for example could add a couple of mph to your speed.

Alternatively be happy with the 20 mph you are doing, sounds pretty average for a beginner to me. Doubt I do much better and Ive been commuting for three years. Saying that im a lot older and a lot fatter.

arallsopp