Any gamers on CC?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dadam

Anyone else into gaming? I know from the PC thread there's at least a few with gaming PCs but haven't seen a thread in this section after scanning back the last 12 months. I started playing computer games on my Spectrum 48K in the early 80s. Many happy hours playing Manic Miner, Knight Lore, Elite, Rebelstar etc, etc.

I've got an elderly gaming PC which I bought to play Elite: Dangerous back in 2016 but doesn't get fired up much now. Also an Xbox series X I don't get chance to play on as it's on the family telly and if someone isn't watching it, my son is playing on it. Though I did manage to finish Red Dead Redemption 2 recently... 4 years after I started it! :laugh:

However I've just bought a Steam Deck OLED and it's fabulous. I can sit on the sofa and game to my heart's content while being "semi-sociable", i.e present and available to comment or answer questions, rather than shut away in another room. It's also giving me chance to play loads of games in my Steam collection that I've never got round to. A few days ago I just finished Doom (2016), runs superbly on the Deck. The gyro controls work so well with the thumb controllers for fine aiming that it's nearly as good (for my meagre skill level) as mouse and keyboard. I'm also playing Horizon Zero Dawn on it.

I bought Cyberpunk 2077 and Skyrim in the Steam sale recently. Cyperpunk is the one I'm going to start playing now I've finished GTA 4. Skyrim is something else I've never played, though I did put a lot of hours into Oblivion on the Xb360.

I'm not a huge Nintendo fan but I have a Switch (which to be fair hasn't seen a lot of use since got the Deck) and spent a fair bit of time in Breath of the Wild and Tears of the Kingdom (my daughter's games but I picked them up after she'd finished them).