Any Sparkies - Wiring question...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've got to change a socket in the house, I'm happy doing it.... done it loads of times (not sure if you are meant to DIY electrics... but I work in a shop that sells them and we sell loads) Question is I've had the socket off and the wires are crazy short. can I join the 2 ends of ring main cables with a hefty screw connector block to a short piece of ring main cable 2 lives to a short piece of live and 2 neutrals to a short piece of neutral. see diagrams for general gist.....

I think I can... but thought I'd ask on a cycling forum! (joking apart we have a wealth of knowledge amongst ourselves)

classic33

Leg End Member
Where do the blocks go when the faceplate is back on the box though.

twentysix by twentyfive

Clinging on tightly
I've done that sort of thing. I've also come across that sort of thing, presumably done by those with certificates. As long as everything is fused (MCB'd seems a clumsy word) at the consumer unit correctly then you are good to go (ie for the smallest wire in your circuit). But I don't hold a certificate.

OP
OP
simon the viking
You could, but you're introducing another weak point/connection. I wouldn't do it.

Where's the earth wire?
Sorry the earths are there with plenty of cable just forgot to add them to dodgy sketch!

I'm only thinking of doing it as its under a cupboard and a nightmare to get over to look properly if wires were an inch or 2 longer it would help considerably

OP
OP
simon the viking
I've done that sort of thing. I've also come across that sort of thing, presumably done by those with certificates. As long as everything is fused (MCB'd seems a clumsy word) at the consumer unit correctly then you are good to go (ie for the smallest wire in your circuit). But I don't hold a certificate.