Asking for a friend.....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I took up cycling a couple of months ago and am now regularly hitting 50 km on my rides.
My wife has (reluctantly) got her bike out after 10 years or so, and can manage about 6 km. She has had a leg injury and has a weakness in one leg, which makes it likely that her distance ability will take time to develop.

Her real problem, not to put too fine a point on it, is that her bum is quite sore after a cycle. Would padded shorts help? I don’t want to spend a lot of money as she might give up, but keen to support her if she wants to keep going.

whitesix

Regular
Even as a complete novice Scotty; the answer is a definite yes and ensure that the saddle is set up correctly and remember; the saddle breaks you in not the other way round. Obviously if the situations does not improve after a few months of getting used to the saddle another saddle could be considered; however if the bike was previously used by your wife without much discomfort; it is in all likely to be just the initial pains of getting back on the bike so to speak!
I hope things improve and that your wife gets back to enjoying cycling; but there again, what do I know; I'm not enjoying it at the moment, after returning to the saddle after a 48 year break!

mudsticks

Obviously an Aubergine
Padded shorts definitely worth a try.

And the right saddle will be key.
It might take a few goes, to get the right one.

Don't give up mrs Scotty!!

Measure those sit bones too:okay:

If your wife has one leg much stronger than the other then her riding gait is of course going to be uneven, causing her pelvis to tilt to one side more than the other.

Potentially adding to pressure on one side of her undercarriage more than t'other.