Average Heart Rate

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Roscoe

Veteran
Hi guys

Apologies if this has been covered before.

I am 46, 5'7" and 75 kgs. I currently ride 3 times a week, one 20 mile ride and two at around 12 miles. The area I live in is fairly hilly. I've been riding for quite a few years now.

I recently bought a Polar FT1, very basic HRM.

I appear to be averaging a heart rate of 138-141 with a max of 165-171, this was over 3 rides on 3 different routes.

I've looked at a lot of the information online re zones and am a bit confused! I understand the percentages for the different zones, however, here is my main question!

Should I avoid exceeding the percentage for each zone throughout my ride? For example, if I'm looking to stay in zone 2, should this be for the average over my ride or not exceed the percentage at all during my ride? Eg, if looking at 65% of max, should the average for the whole ride be 118 BPM or should I not excced 118 BPM at all during the ride?

Sorry for the long winded question.

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
Average HR is generally a pretty useless metric. If the aim of your ride is to be within zone 2, then you should aim to have the highest amount of the ride lay within this zone (it has lower and upper boundaries, i.e. it is a range, not an absolute value), as such a better metric to look at is "time in zone". You will at points drop below your target zone, at others you will exceed it, but you should aim to maximise the time spent in the zone. As such, if you do a 60 minute Zone 2 ride you want the "time in zone" to be as close to 60 mins as possible whilst accepting you will unlikely get it 100%.

VamP

Banned
It's a good question actually.