Basic questions on tyres and tubes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

michael3429

I bought a 2nd hand bike from a friend and have been hiting the road with it a few times doing max 25 miles at moment.
I wanna start pushing to boat out and know doing this i will need to carry a little bit extra kit for eg tubes.

So come to my qustion as i am a total newbie to bikes. Tube sizes. I believe i currently have Continental 700 x 18/25c tubes but when searching to buy new ones i see there is available 700 x 18/23c and a few others i was wondering if anyone could advise me of that all these numbers mean and can i put any 700 tube in the bike, i know some valve sizes are different as mine are currently 42mm but all i can find is 52 i think.

Tyres aswell, can someone point me in the right direction of advice mayeb on this website or another to find the in's and out's on tyres. I know there is properbly some books out there that i should get my head into but i don't know where to start. I just want to understand my bike and treat it with care so it looks after me

many thanks in advance as always

It's a nightmare starting out isn't it?

Firstly - rims, tyres and tubes are usually measured in two ways which mean exactly the same!

All you have to remember is that a 622 rim (the diameter of the bead) is exactly the same as a 700c wheel ( the outer diameter of the tyre).

So a 700 x 23 tyre and a 622 x 23 tyre are exactly the same.

Regarding tubes - they are made to suit tyres of varing widths. So an 18/23 will suit all tyres of widths between 18mm and 23mm. So if you have 25mm tyres then you need the 18/25 tubes.

The valves come in different lengths for different rims - the aero wheels with deep rims need a longer valve etc.

OP
OP
michael3429

michael3429