Beginner - would a CX bike suit me?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kevfm

Regular
I'm sure this has been asked before (I have looked). Although I am fit and active, the last time I cycled on a public road was 20 years ago so I am a complete cycling novice. What I want a bike for is to ride to the gym (15 mile round trip) and for 1-2 hour(ish) rides for a cardio workout. I may want to do some light off road riding. I'd prefer drop bars but am not set on it. I won't be riding all day or going touring. I was thinking of spending £500 or so to get me started and don't mind second hand. I was looking at CX/gravel bikes like this

https://www.planetx.co.uk/i/q/EBPXCXXLA1/planet-x-xla-sram-apex1-cyclocross-bike

Would something like that be OK to get me going or would I be better with a road bike? Or even a hybrid...

thanks in advance

BigMeatball

My advice is, whatever bike you buy, make sure it's got a 2x groupset, gives you more flexibility.

The bike you have linked has a 1x groupset.

But that's just my opinion.

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
Drop or flat bars is one of your bigger decisions as a new cyclist.

Having made that, a cyclocross/gravel/adventure bike will be fine.

It's often only a name, but a true cyclocross bike is designed for racing, which means it has a 'head down' riding position which may not be as comfortable as a bike of the other types.

Visibility for the rider is not as good, which is not important in a race when everyone is going the same way, but is important on roads and paths.

A cyclocross bike may also not have very low gearing because racers shoulder the bike and run up anything steep.

That's also why the gear cables in the bike in your link are routed above the top tube - they won't snag on the rider's shoulder when he gets off and runs with it.

Planet X make nice bikes, but you might be better off buying a bike you can throw your leg over first to test fit.