Bike judders constantly, how to repair?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Stereo

After some initial troubles with my Carrera Subway 2, I've been using it daily for the last 5 months and it's been fine. But it's now started to constantly judder, getting worse the faster you go. Looking down you can see the bike judder. There's no disc rubbing and the wheels look fine as far as I can tell.

Any ideas? I've searched judder on google and most of it is when breaking, and this is constant.

jpembroke

Do you have a tyre bulge by any chance?

Young Un

Could be that your headset has become loose, or that it is now worn. Undo the stem bolts (should be two bolts, 4mm most likely) and then there is a bolt in that goes down into the steerer of the forks (5mm if my memory serves me correctly), tighten this up slightly but check that the bars still turn freely. Then PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE remember to do the stem bolts back up.

Could be a whole host of reasons.

1. Favourite would be that the wheels are out of true vertically- fix something to the forks near the rim and see if the rim moves up and down in relation to the fixed object.

2.Check for play in the hubs by shaking them from side to side.

3.Check the tyres and that they are seated properly.

Norm

+1 to all of the above, although I'd go for the headset last.

It's tough to identify from the information given. Is it from the front or the back? Is it harsher when pedalling of free-wheeling?

Do you have a friend with a bike stand or a handy LBS who might help diagnosis. Whereabouts are you (not your address, just your town / region), just in case you are close to another member on here.

swee'pea99

Legendary Member