Bit of advice...?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Davidsw8

I'm relatively new to cycling in London (9 months) and I'm pretty confident and feel I know the Highway Code and how to cycle responsibly and effectively. However, I had 2 incidents this morning, 1 particularly shook me, and I'd like some opinions on whether I was ok in what I was doing or if I could do (or expect) something different:

Incident 1:

Cycling north over Lambeth Bridge along the cycle lane, I need to go on to the roundabout to go straight ahead up Horseferry Road. I'm nearing the zebra crossing and I have a truck (with trailer) in front of me, he isn't indicating left so I assume he's going straight on but I hang back just in case he wants to turn left and so I don't get clipped by the trailer. So, he turns left (very lucky I hung back I think!) and moves on so I get into the centre of the left side lane as I approach the line. I've been aware that there is a massive coach to my right indicating left behind me and I know he's seen me at several points while we're crossing the bridge. As I'm fairly central and not indicating left, I assume he's going to hang back but as I move forward, he comes up level to me on my right and proceeds to turn left! Very startled, I quickly got off my bike (it's a Brompton, so easy to step out of quickly) and jumped onto the pavement. He broke hard and was waving me on at this point but I'm off my bike on the pavement so I just stood and waved him on instead.

Benefit of the doubt, he may have assumed I was another cyclist who doesn't bother to indicate but even if that were the case, it'd be silly to be positioned where I was to turn left and also there was no reason for me to be waiting at the line, I was able to just carry on cycling left if I wanted to.