BMX for family rides!?!?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Emmaroid

I am soon to get a bike for road and light off road cycling. I was hoping to have some family outings thus meaning getting my 9 year old daughter and my 12 year old son a bike. My stubborn (almost teenage) son is stating he will only go out on a bmx! Am I right in thinking this is totally ridiculous? He is saying it is just like riding a single bike but as a newb I haven't a clue :wacko:

If nothing else please give me ammunition by way of fact for me to throw at him as to why it isn't an option! Or prove me wrong!

wisdom

Guru
With a bmx they pedal like billyo and go fairly fast,but only for short distances they'll soon tire though.I speak from experience,my teenage son who is quite fit being a keen sportsman soon gave up when we went for a ride.

sabian92

Über Member
They weigh a tonne as well. At least my ex's did when I had to push it 5 miles uphill when she couldn't be bothered to ride it home then wanted it. Those bloody stunt pegs made a mess of my shins as well :whistle:

He's probably just being a "Kevin". He's getting to the teens, he'll only get worse :laugh:

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
He's sort of right. It has to be a bike he wants and want's to ride. It is just like riding a single speed. The only snag is getting the gearing right (this can be altered by changing the freewheel). I guess most bmxs will have quite high gearing for sprint starts and nimble manoeuvring but what you want for longer distances is taller gears that will reduce the egg-whisk effect. 'All' you need to do is find the right compromise gear that will allow longer rides and still not be too hard for messing about on and setting off from a standstill/riding up hills.

There are two ways to do this, one is to fit a smaller freewheel/less teeth or fit a bigger/more teeth chainring on the crank/pedals.

Hope this helps :smile: