Broken bike

Would you expect for the manufacturer to?

• Offer a replacement frame free as goodwill?

Votes: 2 8.7%
  • The 300 + vat is reasonable?

Votes: 19 82.6%
  • Offer a replacement frame at a lower cost?

Votes: 2 8.7%

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

shaftonred

Hello, sorry if this is in the wrong section, I am a complete newbie to bikes and to this site.

I am looking for some advice having recently bought a full carbon road bike and damaging it. I paid £800 for a bike previously on sale for £1300 and was recommended to buy a full carbon frame over some of the others I was looking at. I took the advise which at the time didn't mention anything about the strength of the frame and was hooked after my first 24 mile ride.

I went to get the bike out of my garage 3 days after buying the bike and knocked it over in my carpeted garage. Unfortunately the bike fell onto my plastic lawn mower and damaged the frame, whilst still rideable the carbon is damaged and feels soft to touch. I took it back to the shop, explained about what had happen stating that whilst it was my fault I couldn't believe it would break the frame by simply falling over! They have called me back having spoken to the uk distributor who said that they would sell me a full frame set for £300 + vat.... Does this sound reasonable and do you agree that such a small fall should break the frame?

I hoped that the company would be a bit more customer focused and understanding rather than asking me to pay another 360... Appreciate your thoughts.

screenman

Legendary Member
I do not see why they should be out of pocket due to something that was your fault.

OP
OP
S

shaftonred

Agree it was my fault but surely a fall (from a stood up position) onto a plastic lawn mower shouldn't break a frame? If I had a crash at any speed then I would accept it but for this to happen makes me question the strength of the bike.

Archeress

Veteran