Broken spokes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jb1066

hi newbie here, I have a 2016 trek allant hybrid which is just over a year old and done about 600 miles,about 3 weeks ago was riding up a hill (seated not pushing hard) and a spoke broke on the back wheel, took it back to the shop and they fixed it (£20) then yesterday was riding the London to Brighton and as climbing a hill same thing happened, as I was 2 miles from the half way stop I rode to stop as they have a mechanic there. By the time I got there 4 spokes had gone and another one broke while he fixed it, he got me going and it made to the end but he said he would replace all the spokes or buy a new wheel, my questions is, should this of happened on a fairly new bike? Why did it happen?
I quite a big bloke 6ft 4 22 stone so I purposely avoid bumping curbs etc so it's not been abused.
Do I need a stronger wheel if so any recommendations?
John

At 140 kgs you will always be a wheel breaker. Don't expect to get away with standard wheels made for people half your weight. No off-the-shelf wheel will give you the durability that promotes peace-of-mind. Have an experienced wheelbuilder build you a set of heavy duty wheels with at least 36 spokes per wheel (it is difficult to find suitable hubs with more spokes) and make sure the wheels are built with double-butted 2.0-1.8-2.0mm spokes from a reputable brand and that the wheels are properly stress relieved before riding them.

si_c

Guru
Something like this should work well for you. http://www.spacycles.co.uk/m2b0s178p3374/SPA-CYCLES-Handbuilt-Heavy-Duty-Wheelset.They're not cheap, but they should last and SPA have a good reputation, but if you speak to them they'll be able to advise on the suitability of the wheels more.