Brompton 6 speed - drivetrain jammed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

maffyoube

Regular
Im a newbie brompton owner - bought a second hand six speed a few months ago.

On Monday I noticed a rather nasty grinding sound. I didnt have time to investigate. On Tuesday the grinding sound continued and on the occasional pedal stroke it felt like the chain wasnt engaging on the rear - i.e. no power..... I didnt have time to investigate. Today this happened again but this time the whole drive train is jammed and pedals wont turn at all so time to investigate! But looking at it i cant work out what is causing the jam. Any advice?

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Can you see the path of the chain over the 2 rear sprockets and around the deraillieur/tensioner system? Any snagging?
Is the chain running in the rollers of the tensioner?
If you take the chain off the chainset does the chainset still turn? If so then it’s not the bottom bracket.
Can you change either LH or RH gear shifter?

Are you able to take the rear wheel out and check the hub (15mm spanner)?

OP
OP
M

maffyoube

Regular
Thanks both - didnt take long to diagnosis - most definitely the bottom bracket as no movement even after removing chain from chainring.... Oh dear....

Kell

Veteran
I had assumed that if it was purchase SH it would fall outside the recall serial numbers. But that was based on nothing...:laugh:

OP
OP
M

maffyoube

Regular