Builder wants deposit for materials ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
Is this normal ?
We have had a good quote from a recommended builder to refelt and relay the roof tiles along with soffits and guttering for £2200 for a 3 bed semi , the builder is asking for £500 up front for materials

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
A solvent builder should be able to stand the £500 material costs, I would pay on the day the work is completed to your satisfaction. Be careful.
Edit - just to add, reputable builders usually have accounts at builders merchants therefore they wouldn’t require immediate payment for mats anyway.

Last edited:
It's not unusual. If the builder is reputable, and the amount is comparatively small you've nothing to lose. The materials will be on site even if the builder does a runner.

berty bassett

Legendary Member
Speaking as a builder I would say give him the deposit as soon as the materials have been delivered , you know you’ve got something to show for your money and he’s more assured he ain’t out of pocket if you turn out to be an arse - everyone’s a winner
I got stitched up by someone who had £1000 materials then didn’t pay for ages - it hurts , now I always write all materials are mine until payment received

PaulSB

Legendary Member
Is this normal ?
We have had a good quote from a recommended builder to refelt and relay the roof tiles along with soffits and guttering for £2200 for a 3 bed semi , the builder is asking for £500 up front for materials
Two points for me, it sounds too cheap and a good builder who is solvent should not need to ask for a deposit. I've been in my house for 37 years and never paid a deposit for building work which happens to include having all the graduated slates removed, new battens, felt and slates reinstalled.

sheddy

Legendary Member
There are crooks who ask for cash up front. Guess what happens next.