Building a Bike by a Newbie HELP!!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

canaryjam

Hi There
I hope someone can help me!! I am a Newbie to building a bike and I have chosen to take on the challenge, I have bought a Dawes Discovery 501 frame second hand and want to rebuild it, I have stripped off the components that were on it (Pedals, Cranks and ithe bit between the cranks sorry as I say I am new) and now have just the frame. I am after advice on 1. Are big brackets and cranks all universal diameter wise and 2. should I go for a Shimano 105 set up?

Any advise greatly appreciated!!

A bewildered Canary

e-rider

crappy member
If you don't know what the bit between the cranks is called (the Bottom Bracket or BB) then building a bike is probably too much to take on. There is nothing universal on any bike unfortunately. BBs come in about 25 different sizes!

To just get an old frame and decide to build it with 105 kit - well is it just not as simple as that. Good luck anyway.

OP
OP
C

canaryjam

cheers for the speedy response,
ok i think i am gonna go do a basic bike course before i carry on!!
Cheers

Canary

Jonathan M

Hi Canary, the parts that can vary in size from bike to bike are these:

• Bottom Bracket (BB) shell - this is the tubular threaded section that holds the bearings and axle that go between the cranks. You need to know the BB shell size, usually 68mm on a road bike (can be 73mm on a MTB), and very importantly the type of threads, English, which are the commonest, or Italian, which are less common. Suggest you take the old parts to a bike shop with the BB shell measurement - this is the "depth" of the shell between the two open ends. The BB also needs to have the right axle shape, Shimano uses JIS, campag uses ISO - slightly different angles on the axle faces, you see. Axcle length can vary too, depending on frame & crank type. Always good to buy both together.