Buses Pulling up in front of Cyclist?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RobWard

Ok, This has been a long running argument with cyclist and bus drivers.
The cyclist usually says "That bus just overtook me and then pulled in a stopped!"

As a bus driver myself, I can say this is not on purpose. Many bus drivers have on going training in the classroom as part of a CPC. We watch many videos on health and safety Some also cover cycle videos. So many bus drivers do understand the roads cyclist face and many do hold back, give them space and plenty of room when overtaking.
Now imagine a bus driver doing just that. He sees a cyclist ahead of him, He holds back and leaves a safe space. As soon as it is safe to do so the bus driver then overtakes, again giving plenty of space. Then! Through no fault of the driver, a passenger rings the bell for the next stop!
Bus driver signals and pulls in. You now have one very angry cyclist blaming the bus driver. Trust me, its not always the drivers fault.
#JustSaying :cycle:

Why not brake and then pull in behind the cyclist?

The bit about overtaking and THEN a passenger pulls the bell for a stop? If they were alongside then I'm sure that braking and pulling in behind would be the usual behaviour.

I must say that I have the greatest respect for the drivers of the Nottingham buses who regularly proved to be some of the most professional and considerate road users around me. I expect that is not unique to Nottingham...

Ajax Bay

Guru
:welcome: Silverdale was on the route of the Mille Pennines audax (1-4 July), en route to Arnside, Windermere, Seascale and beyond.