Buying my first proper bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

xahend

Regular
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy my first proper bike after practicing on one I loaned from a friend and liking it. I've never bought a bike before, am a self-taught newbie, and I think my friends bike is a 21 speed mountain? bike but I'm not sure (I have pictures of said bike from when I was asking for beginner advice on another thread).
It's quite sturdy, slightly heavy, and the saddle is low enough from the handles for me to feel comfortable.

Also, should I buy from Halfords or a local bike shop? I've heard that buying from a local would be better, but is this the case for someone as ill-informed on bicycles as me?

Will appreciate any tips or advice :smile:

IMG_9195.JPG
IMG_9196.JPG
IMG_9191.JPG
IMG_9193.JPG
IMG_9194.JPG

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
Where about are you? Some may be able to recommend shops local to you to try. Of the big retailers I know Evans allow you to take any bike you are considering for a test ride, and I'm sure others will do. I've tended to use my Local Bike Shop (LBS). And have you an idea on budget?

biggs682

Touch it up and ride it
Yep that looks like an mtb hardtail .

What kind of riding are you hoping to do ? On or off road?

I would suggest visiting as many shops as local listen to all, why not consider second hand?

If local to me in Wellingborough I would happily offer to help and if you are after or fancy trying a road bike you could try one of mine and see how you get on just don't rush .

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.

Yup, unless your riding off road you dont really need suspension as it adds weight and on roads/ canal paths etc the tyres should give you enough cushioning .

Re halfords, like any multi chain business they have good and bad shops dependent on staff at that store, you can get good deals especially if you join british cycling you get 10 % discount in store even o non bike stuff .