Campagnolo Centaur triple

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

woodbutcher

Veteran
Im interested to know what opinions there are on 50-40-30 chainrings. Do they have a legitimate place on a "vintage" bike or just for old blokes like me who need a bit more help to get up the steep bits ?:bicycle:

Getting up steep bits is “a legitimate place”.

I see plenty of 1980’s and 90’s road bikes with triples, here’s one I Spotted online this morning.

https://www.2ememain.be/vélos/vélos/vélos-de-course/carrera-marco-pantani-94-394949122.html

pawl

Legendary Member
I have a Campag triple 52 42 32 on my old 2003 Giant. Largest rear cog is 28.

Considering changing to 50 40 30.If I could find a 30 or 32 rear I would lower my gearing considerably.

Yes I am well into my twilight years and like you need all the help I can get.Triples May be frowned on in some circles , but I am not a proud chap.

OP
OP
woodbutcher

woodbutcher

Veteran
I have a Campag triple 52 42 32 on my old 2003 Giant. Largest rear cog is 28.

Considering changing to 50 40 30.If I could find a 30 or 32 rear I would lower my gearing considerably.

Yes I am well into my twilight years and like you need all the help I can get.Triples May be frowned on in some circles , but I am not a proud chap.
Excellent, can't abide snobs of any type.... bike related or otherwise !

OP
OP
woodbutcher

woodbutcher

Veteran
I shouldn’t worry, if it help you and fits your riding style. The vintage bike police aren’t going to arrest you!
I recon l could outrun a vintage bike policeman specially if they were of similar vintage to me. At least l could until a few days ago when lsomething squishy in my left knee went pop !

Ian H

Ancient randonneur
Triples have been around for quite a long time (I used 'em long before I was an old fart). There was a vintage tandem sporting a quad set at last year's Semaine Federale.

If it keeps your knees from exploding and the bike on the road, then go for it!