Can tyres slow you down?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rockyraccoon

Veteran
As above. recently experiences got me think: what is slowing me down?

I am not interested in puncture resistant.

I am using the ones that came with my bike Specialized Mondo Sport (700 x 23, approx weight 310g) just above the recommended pressure.

Well, I know a lot of people will say they are rubbish (as many reviews) but I have to say I've done over 1,000 miles on some really bad country roads without a puncture (touch wood!) so they have been fine.

I never tried a different tyre so my experiences are limited. What do you think? Personal experiences?

I've no experience of those particular tyres but yes tyres can slow you down, different brands will way more or roll less well (a lower tpi) but there is also a psychological effect that you feel tyres roll worse or better too. If you feel you need that extra edge, upgrading would be a good idea,

Norm

Once you get to 23mm, I think most differences would be psychological, as HLaB says, or relevant only in a pro-peleton.

Well, I should qualify that, as I think that some tyres will be slower than others, but they will have other benefits, such as puncture resistance, for instance.

I changed blocky off-road 26x2.1's for slick 26x1.5 City Jets a few years ago, and the difference over 7 miles was about 17%. Between two different sets of 700x23, though, I doubt you'll see much between two journeys which couldn't be down to what you had for breakfast.

Tyres choice will make a difference, width, weight and tread pattern will affect acceleration and rolling resistance. I've found there to be quite a difference between 23 and 28mm tyres. I like 28's for touring and comfort, but found them frustrating off the line and hard to get back up to speed again. And 23's, while quick, are pretty harsh over intermediate road conditions and long distances and so I've settled on 25's as a happy medium.