Car Mechanicing Question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
I am not a born engineer! However, I was recently quoted £800 plus VAT by a main dealer to supply and fit a starter motor on our second car. This struck me as excessive so I thought, "How hard can it be?"
Not overly was the answer. Yes the bolts were very tight but, a length of 30mm box bodged as an extender bar sorted them. The other connections were awkward as well but gave up in the end.

Now all I have to to is fit the replacement. Is there anything I need to do? Does anything need oiling or can I just slam it in there?

TIA.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan

Profpointy

Legendary Member
I am not a born engineer! However, I was recently quoted £800 plus VAT by a main dealer to supply and fit a starter motor on our second car. This struck me as excessive so I thought, "How hard can it be?"
Not overly was the answer. Yes the bolts were very tight but, a length of 30mm box bodged as an extender bar sorted them. The other connections were awkward as well but gave up in the end.

Now all I have to to is fit the replacement. Is there anything I need to do? Does anything need oiling or can I just slam it in there?

TIA.

In my experience, admittedly with older cars, you just whack it on and do the bolts up. £800 does sound an awful lot, assuming it ain't a ferrari and you don't have to take the engine out or anything daft. What's the part cost - under £200 i guess, and a lot less for a recon one I imagine.

In the 80s I paid £12 for a starter for my cortina and fitted it in 10 minutes

OP
OP
Hugh Manatee

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
I paid £80 for a recon one. It has the same guarantee length as a new one and was about £50 cheaper. I got embarrassed having to keep popping the bonnet and giving it a crack with a hammer!

I don't know cars but knew that was a crazy quote. Once jacked up on to stands, access is pretty fair.

Tim Hall