Carbon road bike recommendations

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tahir

Regular
Looking to buy my first road bike

My budget is 1500-2000£

would like electronic shifting , ultegra spec and carbon frame

Which is best bike for money in that range ?

Also where best to buy

I have tried a few sizes and 56cm is about right

I am 182cm tall (just under 6foot)

Always like best so font mind spending big for right bike

Thanks

sazzaa

Do you go out cycling much? As a beginner I'm wondering what has made you think you need that spec?

SpokeyDokey

67, & my GP says I will officially be old at 70!
Best for what? Sounds like you are just focused on buying spec'. Maybe have a think about what you really need and then start to narrow down choices. You can get a terrific first road bike for way less money than that.

OP
OP
tahir

tahir

Regular
Yep I to 10-20 miles 3 times a week on my mountain bike

But gonna dedicate that to trails

I have been borrowing my mates cannondale carbon 56cm ultrgra spec and it's bob on

Just wanted Di2 electronic shifting - better shifting all round I heard

Wanted to know which brands to go for

Was thinking specialized or trek ?

MikeG

Guru
I guarantee you'll be wasting your money.

For a start, you can't actually know what you want, or what will suit you, until you start doing a few miles. Secondly, this "best" thing is a load of nonsense. Who says electronic shifting is better? Who says it is worth the extra to have ultegra gear? Who told you that paying for an expensive group-set is better than, say, paying for expensive wheels, or a better frame?

sazzaa

Meh, if you want something you think is cool instead of something suitable then go for it. It's your cash. Not sure why you've posted asking for opinions though since you have the internet to search the two brands and specific spec you're after.

vickster

Legendary Member

I have been borrowing my mates cannondale carbon 56cm ultrgra spec and it's bob on