Cassettes and cimbing?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

davdandy

Ok,although i have been riding for a couple of years and got quite a few miles under the bonnet i am a bit thick regarding gearing.So need your advice.

I currently have a Cannondale Caad 8 105 with the settings as below.I have changed nothing in that time.

But on climbing the steepest hills,like Sheephouse lane in Rivington i struggle,i never give up and always make it but it beats the hell out of me and my legs.Would changing the rear cassette to a 12-30 help or not worth the hassle,also what differences would i notice both on the climbs and descents.And also on the flats dont forget.

Or is there another way to help on the climbs.

Of course i have the usual limits as always such as budget would appreciate your wise knowledge on this matter.

Cranks: Fsa Gossamer, BB30, 50/34
Bottom Bracket: Fsa BB30
Chain: Kmc X10
Rear Cogs: Shimano Tiagra 4600, 12-28, 10-Speed
Front Derailleur: Shimano 105 5700, 31.8mm Clamp
Rear Derailleur: Shimano 105 5700
Shifters: Shimano 105 5700

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
The 30 would be slightly easier than the 28 but you would still have to apply 28/30 of the force on the pedals to travel at the same speed (and pedal faster!) so it isn't a huge change.

You could fit a mountain bike cassette with an even bigger granny cog, say a 32. You would have to look into whether your rear derailleur could cope, and would probably need a longer chain.

To save anybody else typing it (and they would!) - the 3 other ways to make climbing easier are;

1. Get fitter! It's obvious that, but not very helpful. I am getting fitter and doing much better on gears that used to defeat me, but it is still nice to have lower gears when you want to use them.
  2. Go slower. It sounds like you are probably going as slowly as you can already, and grinding your way up the climbs.