Chain and Cassette

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fonsde54

Hi,

I have a carrera subway two
2417.jpg

I want to replace the chain, because its worn out.

How can i know what chain to get? the bike has 8 speeds in the cassette.
Should I get IG or HG chain?

How can I tell if my cassette is HG or IG?

sorry for asking a lot of questions, but i am a newbie and try to learn more

Thanks in advance

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Your cassette will have the part number printed on it if it's Shimano - usually on the largest sprocket.

To be honest, any 8 speed chain will do the trick. I'd suggest one from the KMC range as they are readily available, inexpensive, wear well and come with a "missing link" connector which makes them easier to fit than the Shimano ones. SRAM chains are also decent quality and come with a similar "powerlink" connector.

Edit: Just a word of caution; If your current chain is very badly worn it may be necessary to replace the cassette too as a new chain will jump on a worn cassette.

evo456

Über Member
how can i tell if the cassette needs replacing?

The 'tooths' on the rear cassette or chain ring will look like sharp and pointy. PS how do you know your chain is worn? Or is it just looking past it's best, in which case some TLC can make it a lot better and will make it perform so much better.

Last edited:

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
how can i tell if the cassette needs replacing?
You might be able to tell by inspection - the teeth on some gears will be more pointy than others as already mentioned - but sometimes you'll only know when it jumps as you put a bit of power into the pedals, as happened to me after fitting a new chain this afternoon.:sad:

Last edited:
OP
OP
F

fonsde54

apparently both the cassette and the middle chainring need replacing...
i managed to remove the chainrings. Can i only change the middle one? And how can i pick one that is compatible?