Changing crankset and cassette - newbie problems!!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joffey

Big Dosser
Hello

I have a Carrera Virtuoso Ltd and I'm struggling going up hills. Badly. So I thought about changing the crankset or cassette (or both) to give me a better chance climbing.

My problem - I've never done it before and don't know what is even possible.

Easiest solution in my mind would be change the crankset from a double to a triple. Problem solved. But would my derailleur need changing and would my shifters work still?

Any advice would be appreciated.

The spec currently is:

Chainset: Shimano FCA050 52/39
Front Mech: Shimano FDA050
Cassette: 12-26T
Rear Mech: Shimano RD-2300
Shifters: Shimano ST-2300

Also, I need to do this as cheap as possible... I have Shimano triple on my MTB, could I use this and the front mech on the road bike?

Thanks, and sorry for being thick!

RecordAceFromNew

Swinging Member
Also, I need to do this as cheap as possible... I have Shimano triple on my MTB, could I use this and the front mech on the road bike?

Thanks, and sorry for being thick!

Certainly nothing thick about your question, what is thick is manufacturers/shops continuing to offer gearing on road bikes more suited to professional racers than the vast majority of riders.

The answer is going to be a bit long-winded, but hopefully can also be of some use to others in a similar situation.

Firstly given your front shifter is the ST-2300 rather than the ST-2303, it can only handle two rings up front, and since drop bar shifters tend not to be cheap, that rules out a triple chainset. Secondly because Shimano drop bar road front shifters pull insufficient cable per shift for mtb front mechs, you should not try to use your mtb front mech on the road bike.

So the obvious choice is narrowed down to a) increase the size of the largest rear sprocket and/or b) reduce the size of the smallest front chainring.