'Cheap' set of Pedals and Shoes?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

FeistySquirrel

Professional Jelly Baby Decapitator
Hi guys.

Any suggestions for a nice set up for Road Shoes and pedals?

My LBS has a deal on, FLR F-55 and Shimano M520 SPD pedals for £60 ... I've been reading that MTB's are better if you intend to walk as the're recessed? .. But maybe for Road Riding, road shoes would be better? Anything out there for a full setup for a similar price, or am I better of getting them?

(I have no experience with Clipless yet...)

-Squirrel

MikeW-71

Veteran
MTB or Touring shoes are good if you need to walk at all, the cleat is recessed into the sole. I went for MTB shoes (Shimano M077) and the M520 pedals as I commute and I'm also going to do some light touring, so being able to walk properly is good. If you want Road shoes then you are better with SPD-SL, though they are somewhat awkward to walk in.

OP
OP
FeistySquirrel

FeistySquirrel

Any different in sizing? I'm a 9 I'm trainers... Recommend getting the 9 in them.. Or just try them and see?

MikeW-71

Veteran
You need to try them on. I went one size bigger than normal as they must not feel cramped in any way. If they are, they will be torture on the bike. Try your normal size first and go from there.

OP
OP
FeistySquirrel

FeistySquirrel

Also.. Big random... Would you suggest thin trainer socks or slightly thicker sport socks?

lesley_x

Über Member
MTB shoes and spd cleats are infinitely easier to use and walk in. I had a disaster with spd sl, but I'm getting on better with spd. I had to take a full size up in my Louis Garneau shoes.

GrumpyGregry

Here for rides.
If you are serious road racer complete with license, or the worst kind of wannabee or mamil, or some kind of sportivaholic go spd-sl.

for normal non-competitive road cycling go spd with mtb or touring shoes.