Cleaning and lubricating.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Janrhino

Right, I am fairly new to cross country biking and am hearing conflicting advice about what to spray and where, please put me right.
So, I have cleaned the mud off my bike and now what?

Gears, chain, shocks, brakes up till now I have been using Muc Off brake cleaner on the brakes and WD40 on everything else but am now told that WD40 is no good near the bearings and the chain should have oil on it.

Sort me out!

gaz

Cycle Camera TV
Finish line lube on the chain will be the dogs balls

WD40 has better cleaning properties than lubricating, so it would tend to strip part likes bearings and chains of the lube they need to operate effectively. Without the lube metal parts grind against metal parts wearing out faster. You'd be better with a lube like Finish Line Cross Country for the chain.

giant man

HLaB said:
WD40 has better cleaning properties than lubricating, so it would tend to strip part likes bearings and chains of the lube they need to operate effectively. Without the lube metal parts grind against metal parts wearing out faster. You'd be better with a lube like Finish Line Cross Country for the chain.

+1 - absolutely! I don't know how many times i have told people WD40 is a releasing agent and NOT a lubricant. Finish Line CC is excellent ......

rsvdaz

so what is the best method for chain maintainance?

i have that dry lube stuff...but boy my chain aint dry....just rub bare flesh against it and u have a loverly black stripe!

when i had motorbikes it was out with the toothbrush and degreaser cleaning the chain and i used profi dry lube..went on white and the chain and sprockets remained fairly clean...whats the norm on bikes..road and mtb?

al78

Guru
rsvdaz said:
so what is the best method for chain maintainance?

i have that dry lube stuff...but boy my chain aint dry....just rub bare flesh against it and u have a loverly black stripe!