Climbing :: High Cadence Out The Saddle

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Elliott W

Hey
Been watching the tour and Vuelta this year and im amazed how contador and many others achieve such a high cadence out the saddle without "spinning out". I'm a newb to cycling and have been watching Durian rider (youtuber) and it seems like high cadences are the answer rather than grinding a big gear like i already do. However i have successfully climbed some pretty steep hills in some good times but i want to really compete (on strava) and post some good top 10 times on climbs like saltbox hill, gangers hill, polesteeple hill and more.

So my question is "How do you achieve a high cadence out the saddle without spinning out and are there anly drills i can do?. Being 15 i cant by equipment that might help"

Elliott Williams on Strava if your wondering

Last edited:
OP
OP
Elliott W

Elliott W

bump

Durian Rider's secret is not high cadence - it's bananas. In more ways than one.

To answer the question though - high cadence is not really compatible with climbing out of the saddle, as mosquitoking has correctly pointed out.. :smile:

Looking at your strava times, my guess is that you are simply not fit enough, so no amount of 'cadence drills' are going to help in reality. Just concentrate on riding more, further and faster - although not necessarily all at the same time.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Elliott W

Elliott W

Durian Rider's secret is not high cadence - it's bananas. In more ways than one.

To answer the question though - high cadence is not really compatible with climbing out of the saddle, as mosquitoking has correctly pointed out.. :smile:

Looking at your strava times, my guess is that you are simply not fit enough, so no amount of 'cadence drills' are going to help in reality. Just concentrate on riding more, further and faster - although not necessarily all at the same time.

fair enough, my last strava times were just leisurely rides btw.